In this blog Art History student Callista Aston from the University of Auckland explains how she helped the De Morgan Foundation to identify the source material for a study in our collection by Evelyn De Morgan: D_EDM_0390. The study is one of several copies which we believe Evelyn undertook in situ at various museums whilst training to be an artist.
A much under researched part of William De Morgan's oeuvre is his designs for stained glass. Between 1865 and 1872 he was known to have worked on stained glass production with Edward Burne-Jones for Morris and Co. As well as contributing to some of Burne-Jones’s commissions he also worked on commissions by himself and we are aware that he created designs for 8 churches across the country, of which we believe 5 are still in situ.
De Morgan Foundation acquires rare copy of “The Result of an Experiment” publication of William and Evelyn De Morgan’s automatic writings.
Natasha Logan joined us for a short volunteering stint in the winter of 2014. She had previous museum experience but we always hope we can offer something new and unique for our volunteers. Reading Natasha's account of her time with us, we think we may have succeeded in this case!
Hidden away in a dark corner of All Saints Church, in the tiny village of Cawthorne, some wonderful but relatively unknown paintings by Evelyn De Morgan are located.
On August 10th, 1880, William De Morgan, William Morris, Jane Morris and companions left Morris' home of Kelmscott House to journey by boat to Kelmscott Manor in Oxfordshire. A member of the party (possibly William Morris) typed a highly entertaining account of this expedition, noting the towns they passed and places they stopped for the night, the food they ate, and the people they encountered along the way. The De Morgan Foundation holds a transcript of this account in its archive; enjoy this short synopsis!
This week we welcomed our painting conservator, Carol Willoughby. The De Morgan Foundation is undertaking conservation on eleven of Evelyn De Morgan's paintings, and the first step in that process is taking the canvases out of the frames. The paintings and the frames will go to separate specialist conservators. This has been an interesting week for staff and volunteers, as it is a chance to experience the paintings close-up, see them out of their frames and, in some cases, uncover exciting new discoveries!
This week (1st – 7th June) is Volunteers’ Week, an annual event celebrating the contribution made by millions of volunteers across the UK. As a small institution, we rely on our dedicated group of volunteers to keep the Foundation running smoothly. Our trusty helpers perform a wide range of tasks, and we’d like to take a little time today to highlight some important activities that couldn’t take place without their help.
Recently the British Museum put out a call for objects for a project called 'Teaching History in 100 Objects'. This project aims to support teaching of the new history curriculum by creating a set of free, high quality online resources based on museum objects. The British Museum will be showcasing many objects from museums across the UK in order to showcase the potential of local and regional collections in supporting students’ learning.
It has long been common knowledge that De Morgan was employed by P&O’s ships architect T.E.Colcutt to design schemes and provide tile decorations for the public rooms and circulation areas of twelve P&O liners. Initially supplying stock designs such as the Rose and Trellis, Double Carnation and BBB tiles which were installed in the smoking room of the s.s.Britannia, De Morgan soon progressed to designing elaborate schemes of arcades of trees, or imagined vistas from the ship’s voyage.